Holland, Anderson punch ticket to Scotties provincials

By Nathan Kanter
December 4, 2017 - 12:00pm

Two experienced skips booked their ticket to January's Viterra Scotties Women’s Provincial Championship this past weekend, by outplaying eight other teams at the Twin Rivers Curling Club in North Battleford.

Amber Holland, who curls out of the Callie Curling Club in Regina, and Sherry Anderson, who represents the Nutana Curling Club in Saskatoon, finished first and second, respectively, at the Viterra Women's Challenge.

Team Holland, made up of lead Deb Lozinski, second Laura Strong, third Sherri Singler, and Holland at skip, only needed three games to clinch their spot at provincials. They defeated Team Barber 8-2 in draw two, Team Williamson 6-3 in draw three, and then convincingly beat Sherry Anderson's rink in the 'A' final on Saturday afternoon 9-3.

Team S. Anderson, comprised of lead Karlee Korchinski, second Krista Fesser, third Kourtney Fesser, and Anderson at skip, beat Team Selzer and Team Chisholm in their first two games before falling to Team Holland in that 'A' final. They rebounded by beating Team Fleming and then Team Chisholm again in the 'B' final.

The final match against Carlyle's Team Chisholm went down to the wire and required extras to determine the winner. Anderson's rink had a narrow 3-2 lead heading into the ninth end, before Team Chisholm scored two to take a 4-3 lead. Anderson would tie it in the 10th and then win 5-4 in the 11th and final end.

Holland last took part in provincials in 2014, and won back to back tournaments in 2010 and 2011. Sherry Anderson, meanwhile, has won provincials four times, the last one coming in 2004. Anderson also most recently won the 2017 Canadian Senior Curling Championships.

These two teams join five that have already qualified for the provincial championships thanks to their performance on the Canadian Team Ranking System and Saskatchewan Women’s Curling Tour. Those five teams are: Team Silvernagle, from North Battleford, Team Barker, from Moose Jaw, Team Eberle, from Regina, Team Martin from Saskatoon, and Team Howard, from Regina.

Two additional spots are still up for grabs.

Team Barker won the provincials last year, which were held in Melville. This year, they will be held in Melfort from Jan. 2-7. 


[email protected]

On Twitter: @meadowlakenow

Monday's Scoreboard

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.