Harrison acclaimed as Meadow Lake Sask. Party candidate for 2020 election

By meadowlakeNOW Staff
October 7, 2018 - 12:18pm

Jeremy Harrison will once again represent the Saskatchewan Party in the next provincial election for the constituency of Meadow Lake.

The three-term MLA was acclaimed Friday night.

“I am humbled by the continued support I have received throughout the constituency," Harrison said in a news release. “I am ready to stand with Premier Scott Moe and to stand up for Saskatchewan."

Harrison was first elected to the Saskatchewan legislature in the 2007 provincial election and re-elected in both 2011 and 2016.  He holds the title as the youngest Canadian to sit in both the House of Commons and a provincial legislative assembly.

Harrison has served in various cabinet roles, including as the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Enterprise Saskatchewan, Economy, the Minister Responsible for Immigration, Jobs, Skill and Training, the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority, Tourism Saskatchewan, and Innovation. In February, he was made Minister of Trade and Export Development and Immigration and Career Training by Premier Scott Moe.

The party has now nominated five candidates for the next provincial election with 12 more nomination meetings scheduled before the end of the year. The next will be for Wood River on Oct. 9.

Last year, Harrison threw his name into the ring for leadership of the Sask. Party to replace Brad Wall. He resigned his Ministry of Economy portfolio on Aug. 19 to enter the race, but withdrew a short time later, voicing support for Rosthern-Shellbrook MLA Scott Moe.

The next provincial election is expected in 2020.


[email protected]

On Twitter: @meadowlakeNOW

Harrison, Wyant off to Israel for trade mission

Join the Discussion

We are happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.